Our people

Integrity Commissioner

The Integrity Commission is headed by The Hon Dennis Cowdroy AO QC, appointed as the first ACT Integrity Commissioner by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly following a unanimous resolution of the Assembly approving of his appointment.

Mr Cowdroy was a Judge of the Federal Court of Australia until his tenure ceased in 2014. At that time, he also held Commissions as an additional Judge of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory, Judge-Advocate of the Australian Defence Force, Presidential Member of the Australian Administrative Appeals Tribunal, and Member of Defence Force Disciplinary Appeals Tribunal.​

Chief Executive Officer

Mr John Hoitink is the Commission’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Commission and advising the Commission about operational and financial matters.

Prior to becoming the Commission’s CEO, Mr Hoitink worked in various positions within the NSW Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC), including as acting CEO. He was appointed as the Executive Director of ICAC’s investigative division in 2017.

He holds an Executive Master of Public Administration as well as diplomas in management (government) and investigations.

Mr Hoitink's law enforcement career commenced in 1979 with the ACT Police as it was then known and subsequently the Australian Federal Police in Canberra.

Mr Hoitink transferred to the AFP’s Brisbane office in the early 1990s where he undertook state, national and international investigations with the AFP and partner enforcement organisations. Mr Hoitink was a designated detective and completed three tours of duty with the United Nations. He moved to the Australian Tax Office in 2000 where he was a manager in the serious non-compliance branch in Brisbane, before joining the ICAC in 2004.